Check the list below
- North dakota
- South dakota
- North carolina
- New jersey
- Rhode island
- Vermont all ban public drinking within their borders
The map below shows the percentage of states that ban drinking in public places, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).
The map is based on data from the NCSL, which is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that collects and analyzes data on state laws on alcohol and alcohol-related issues. NCSL’s data is updated every two years, so it’s a good way to see what’s changed since the last time the organization updated its map.
The most recent version of this map was published in 2013.
Table of Contents
Can I drink in public in Illinois?
Any public property without a special permit from the local commissioner, the parking lot of any business establishment, or any open container of alcoholic liquor will not be possessed by a person. Any vehicle traveling upon or parked in a parking lot of a commercial establishment.
Can you drink in public Michigan?
Unless the premises are licensed by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission, beer, wine, and spirits can’t be consumed on any premises. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than $1,000.00 or imprisoned for not less than 30 days or both.
A second or subsequent conviction is a felony punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by a fine not to exceed $2,500, and by both that fine and imprisonment. The court may order the person to pay restitution to the owner or lessee of any property damaged or destroyed as a result of this violation.
Can you drink in public in Georgia?
Georgia is one of only seven states that do not have a law prohibiting the possession of an open container in a public place. Local governments have passed laws prohibiting open containers of alcohol. The historic district of downtown Atlanta does not allow the open carrying of alcoholic beverages. In addition to Georgia
- The district of columbia
- New york
- Rhode island
Can you walk around in public drinking?
The majority of U.S. states and localities prohibit possessing or consuming an open container of alcohol in public places, such as on the street, while 24 states do not have statutes regarding the possession of open containers of alcoholic beverages in a public place.
According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), an estimated 1.5 million people in the United States suffer from alcohol-related problems, including alcohol dependence, alcohol abuse, and alcohol poisoning. In addition, the number of deaths related to alcohol is estimated to be more than 1 million per year.
Can you drink alcohol in a park in Idaho?
The use of alcohol. Beer and wine can be found in most parks. Unless the location is a licensed one, all alcoholic beverages are not allowed. Parking is available on a first come, first served basis. City does not permit overnight parking in any of our parks, except in designated parking areas.
For more information on parking, please contact the Boise Parks and Recreation Department at or by e-mail at [email protected] For more information on parking, please contact the Boise Parks and Recreation Department at or by e-mail at [email protected]
Can I drink while walking down the street?
It is against the law to drink in public in California outside of a bar or restaurant. For example, it is legal to consume alcohol in a public place if you are accompanied by someone who is 21 years of age or older.
Can you walk and drink in Illinois?
Drinking publicly is a crime in the city of Chicago and most places in Illinois. If you are walking down the street drinking from a can of beer or open bottle of wine, the police have the right to arrest you and take you to jail. Chicago, you can be arrested for drinking in public if you have any amount of alcohol in your body.
You can also be charged with public drunkenness if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08 percent. The maximum fine for a first offense in Chicago is $1,000. A second offense can result in a fine of up to $2,500, a jail sentence of one to six months, or both.