How Much Is A Hunting License In South Carolina?

The Big Game Permit in South Carolina costs $100 and an annual hunting license costs $125 for non-residents. Non-residents are required to purchase deer tags at a cost of $25.

Hunting season is open from November 1 through March 31, with the last day to purchase a permit on or before April 1. The permit can be purchased online at or in person at the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) office in Columbia, SC.

How much does it cost to hunt in South Carolina?

The Big Game Permit in South Carolina costs $100 and an annual hunting license costs $125 for non-residents. Non-residents have to purchase deer tags, which cost $50 per tag, on top of these two items. Hunting season is from October 1 to April 30, with the last day of the season being May 1. There is no limit on the number of tags that can be purchased during the hunting season.

Hunters must be at least 21 years of age to purchase a deer tag and must have a valid hunting or fishing license to hunt. The license is valid for one year from the date it is issued, but hunters can renew their license at any time by visiting the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) website at or by calling the DNR at.

Do you need a license to hunt in South Carolina?

South Carolina hunters over the age of 16 must have a resident hunting license. Additional permits and tags can be purchased from the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. Hunters must be at least 16 years of age to purchase a permit or tag.

The permit is valid for one year from date of purchase and expires on December 31 of the year in which the permit was issued. A hunter must also be a member of a recognized hunting club or organization to receive a hunting permit.

Hunters who are not members of recognized clubs or organizations may apply for a hunter education permit at the Division of Fish and Wildlife office in Columbia. This permit will allow the hunter to hunt with a bow and arrow, but not a muzzleloader or air rifle. It will also allow for the hunting of non-muzzleloaders and air rifles.

For more information, please visit

Do I need a hunting license to hunt on my own land in South Carolina?

Unless an individual has a valid South Carolina hunting license, it is illegal for anyone to hunt or take wildlife on WMA land. (3) A person who violates any provision of this section commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s, unless the person has been previously convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to a violation of subsection (1), (2), or (3).

(4)(a) The owner or person in charge of any wildlife management area, including, but not limited to, the Wildlife Management Area in which the violation occurred, may bring an action in the circuit court for injunctive relief against the violator.

The court may award reasonable attorney’s fees and costs to the prevailing party. (b) An action brought pursuant to this subsection must be brought within one year after the date on which a notice of violation was served on the owner, or, if no owner is identified, within two years after service of such notice, whichever is later.

If an owner fails to respond within the time period specified in paragraph (a), the action may be commenced by filing a petition for a writ of mandamus with the clerk of superior court.

What do I need to hunt in South Carolina?

Both hunting and fishing privileges can be obtained with a combination license. If you are hunting deer, bear, or turkey, you will need a fishing license.

Can a felon get a hunting license in SC?

While you can get a hunting license if you complete the course, you can’t own or use a gun if you are a felon. That’s correct. If you are convicted of a felony, you can’t own a gun, even if you complete the education requirement and have your hunting privileges revoked.

If you are a convicted felon, it’s important to understand that you will not be allowed to purchase or possess any type of firearm, ammunition, or ammunition feeding device. This means you cannot purchase a rifle, shotgun, pistol, revolver, machine gun, silencer, muzzleloader, short-barreled rifle (SBR), or any other firearm with a barrel less than 16 inches in length.

The only exception to this rule is the sale or transfer of an antique firearm to a person who is at least 21 years of age and is not prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law. For more information, please visit the Department of Justice’s website at

What is the fine for hunting without a license in South Carolina?

If a person is convicted of hunting without a license, they must be fined not less than fifty dollars or more than one hundred dollars, and imprisoned for a period not to exceed one year.

In addition to the penalties provided in this section, it is unlawful for any person to hunt with a bow, crossbow, firearm or any other weapon or device that is designed to be used as a weapon, unless the person is licensed to do so by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.

A person who violates the provisions of this subsection commits a Class C misdemeanor.

Can you hunt on Sunday in SC?

Hunting is not allowed on Sundays on all lands. Hunting for deer, moose, and other wildlife can be done on Sunday on private lands. For more information, please contact the Department of Natural Resources.