Fine Without Fishing License > Here’s What People Don’t Know

Fishing will be punished by a fine of not less than fifty or more than one hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for not more than thirty days.

Can you fish without a license in Colorado?

Any angler 16 or older needs a valid license to go fishing in Colorado. Residents and non-residents of Colorado both need to have one, but the available options are different for both groups. A person who has lived in Colorado for more than a year is a resident of the state.

Non-resident residents are those who have lived outside of CO in the past year and have not moved back to CO. (CDFW) is responsible for issuing fishing licenses to anglers. The license is valid for one year from the date of issuance and must be carried at all times while fishing.

Do you need a fishing license for catch and release in Massachusetts?

Yes, all anglers 16 and older must have an individual permit. For more information, visit the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation website.

Do you need a fishing license on private property in Massachusetts?

Fishing in a pond that is partially or completely enclosed by a fence or other barrier is prohibited. You must have the permission of the landowner or land manager before you fish.

How much is a ticket for not having a fishing license in Colorado?

The $50 fine for fishing without a license is in colorado. You will plead guilty to the ticket if you pay the fine. If you plead guilty to fishing without a license and pay a $50 fine, you also agree to pay a $1,000 fine.

If you do not pay the fine within 30 days of being issued the citation, your license will be suspended for a period of 90 days. You will also be required to complete a fishing safety course.

Where can you fish without a license in NC?

Any person over the age of 16 who fishes in North Carolina’s public waters must have a fishing license. The ability to fish in public, inland fishing waters in their county of residence has been eliminated. For more information on fishing regulations, visit

Can I fish in Alabama without a license?

A valid fishing license is required for alabama residents between the ages of 16 and 64 who fish with rod and reel or artificial bait. Outside of your county of residence, you must have a license to fish with hook and line. For more information on fishing licenses, visit the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources website at

Licenses are valid for one (1) year from the date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional year at the discretion of the Division of Fish and Wildlife. If you wish to renew your license online, you may do so by clicking on the “Renew Your Fishing License” link below.